2 ingredient Tomato jam

A few days ago I had made Tomato jam or Thakalli Pachadi and had written a brief post about it in instagram . So I thought of writing it as blog post too. Check below for my insta post.

Follow me on instagram for more awesome updates and insta stories.

Tomato pachadi is not something that we do very often in my house.I’ve always seen it being served only in weddings . Either this or Pazha Pachadi . But , mum and I have been craving for something sweet lately , yet we wanted something less cumbersome to prepare.IMG_20170126_115956.jpg

So when my mum had been to visit the doctor for her monthly check-up ,I was scanning my pantry to make something delectable. It turns out I had too many tomatoes that were too ripe or was almost going to be rotten,  something had to be done with it or I’ll have to waste it. So I thought “Hey! lemme surprise mum by making this into a jam”. The best part  is I did not check any cook book or any blog to make this. I made this thinking from my tongue! (Yeah! I’m Jughead Jones 😉 ). After years of attending many family weddings , and licking this off my leaf , I’ve always tasted only two things in it – tomato and sweet.

This jam requires only two ingredients to prepare :- Tomato and Sugar.

IMG_20170126_120028.jpg

Once this jam is done , you can store this in a glass jar and refrigerate it  up to a week. This can be used as a spread on toasted breads or it can also be smeared on chappathi , roll it and you can just bite into it when you have that 4 ‘o clock hunger pangs.

Summary

  • course type : condiment
  • difficulty : easy
  • prep time : 5 min
  • cooking time : 25-30 min

 

Ingredients

Medium Sized Ripe Tomatoes ½ kg or 6-7 finely chopped
Sugar 200-250 grams

 

Steps

  1. Wash and finely chop the tomatoes and keep it aside.
  2. Take a heavy bottomed kadaai or wok or pan , keep it on medium heat.
  3. Add the chopped tomatoes into the pan along with the sugar.
  4. You’ll notice the sugar melting and the tomatoes will ooze out its own juice.
  5. Simmer the heat and cook this in the same heat for about 25-30 minutes.
  6. After about 30 minutes , the tomatoes would have reduced in volume and would look like a jam.
  7. Take this off the heat , let it cool down and store it in a jar and refrigerate it up to a week.
Leave a Reply

